School of Physics Committees

2015-2016: Assignments and Responsibilities (August 17, 2015)

Administrative Functions

  • Chair: Laguna
  • Associate Chair for Graduate Program: Zangwill
  • Associate Chair for Undergraduate Program: Kennedy
  • Associate Chair for Physics Education:  Schatz


  1. Faculty Advisory Committee (elected): TBD 
  2. Reappointment, Promotion and Tenure Committee:  Uzer (Chair), Cvitanovic, Ballantyne, Goldman, Kennedy, Wiesenfeld
  3. Periodic Peer Review Committee: Uzer (Chair), Cvitanovic, Ballantyne, Goldman, Kennedy, Wiesenfeld
  4. Graduate Committee: Zangwill (Chair), Gumbart, Ballantyne, Sponberg, Yunker, First, Schatz, Uzer, Sowell
  5. Undergraduate Committee: Kennedy (Chair), Conrad, Raman, Pustilnik, Schatz, Darnton, Trebino, Greco, Jarrio, Murray, Scherbakov
  6. Safety and Facilities Committee: Davidovic (Chair), Raman, de Heer, Chapman, Trebino, Garner
  7. Colloquium Committee: Cvitanovic (Chair), Cadonati, Jiang, Kindermann, Kim, Curtis
  8. Computer Committee: Taboada (Chair), Otte, First, Davidovic, Grigoriev, Pustilnik, First, Wallom
  9. Communications Committee:  Wise (Chair), Gumbart, Cadonati, Kindermann, Wallom, Morton
  10. Awards and Fellowships: Curtis (Chair), Chapman, Taboada, Jiang, Tan, Grigoriev
  11. Introductory Physics Task Force: Chou (co-Chair), Wiesenfeld (co-Chair), Shoemaker, Nieves, Fenton, Mourigal, Bogdanovic
  12. Strategic Planning: Tan (Chair), Nieves, Goldman, Shoemaker, Conrad, Cvitanovic

Other Responsibilities

  • Undergraduate Advisors: Conrad, Jarrio, Kennedy, Schatz, Scherbakov
  • Elected Members of Academic Senate & General Faculty Assembly: Raman (2012-15), Zangwill (2012-15), Greco (2012-15)
  • DoTE, Director of Teaching Effectiveness (CoS): Kennedy
  • Dean’s RPT Advisory Committee: First
  • GT1000: Greco
  • SPS Advisors: Greco
  • Astronomy Club Advisor: Sowell
  • Outreach Coordinators: Fenton, Greco, Sowell